Letter to the Editor

It is no more news that the Ogun State official polytechnic (Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta) still lacks some amenities which in my opinion this lack is not justifiable. Provision of hostel is one and the most conspicuously lack amenities which should be looked into before long.
You would agree with me that a good hostel is a criterion for which an institution is rated. Institutions including Lagos State Polytechnic and the Polytechnic Ibadan boast of beautiful hostels with conducive environment. It is chagrin to list an institution born of the gateway state among those without hostels.
During my ND days, there was a rumour that MAPOLY hostel will be built. This rumour got me excited as I envisaged my HND in the school hostel, but here I am in computer science HND2 with no reasonable news of a hostel. The area pegged in the campus for the proposed hostel is still with no changes for years. Does it take that long to stage a structure? Well, I’m just a computer scientist I’ll push this question to the Civil Engineering students for answer.
MAPOLY students are faced with myriads of problems inflicted mostly by the lack of hostel from my perspective. Problem like hike in house rent for example conceive more problems like rape, bad company and falling into the hand of scammers (fraudsters) among others. I remember vividly when I was admitted for my National Diploma I was introduced to an agent who also work in the school, I paid him a sum of 50 thousand naira for the room he showed me. On getting to the room the following day, there was another occupant. Up till this present moment, He’s unable refund my full money. I’m just one out of many victims. I guess this answer why we need a working hostel.
The present dispensation of Professor Itiola has accomplished a lot of infrastructural projects on campus. The Rector has worked and is still working tirelessly for the growth of Moshood Abiola Polytechnic. And he’ll be the institution hero if he can add the hostel to his numerous achievements.
I urge the State government to look into MAPOLY students accommodation issues and develop hostels to help minimise the danger and stress students are faced with. This project is feasible and achievable by the state government. God bless MAPOLY, God bless Ogun State

Joshua O. Bello writes from the department of Computer Science.

See here …https://mapolypress.wordpress.com/2016/12/21/press-man-of-the-week/

Leave a comment

Trending