Sulaimon Okikiola

On December 13, 2016, I woke up very early in the morning and asked my younger brother what the time was, he sluggishly told me the time was past 5am, I do wake up for Solat by 5:45 am, after which bathing is the next thing.

Food was on fire, as I was also getting set for school. First thing first, I checked my small handbag, hoping not to forget anything ‘cos i forget things a lot.

After the whole thing, I was finally ready for school! I boarded a cab going to Abeokuta, and since I already know my way to school, it was as smooth as the word smooth itself…lol

On getting to school, the first place I went to was the billboard on which the time-table was pasted, I checked for a few minutes then I copied the timetable, I was about leaving the board when I saw some students, they were three in number, one of them a lady, slim, fair and beautiful tapped me from behind and said: excuse me ‘errm’ we are looking for the hall where ND1 freshers are

In my mind I was like: Chai! Me sef I be fresher I no know o. But the living God i serve made a way for me…lol, all of a sudden, a woman showed up and was directing people (freshers) so I just told them to follow her, though I was coming behind too…lol

On getting to the hall, everyone was silent and shy, even me too…lol, what made me kept my cool was a friend called Wale, we’re both photographers back at home and we also gained admission into MAPOLY at the same time.

Few minutes later in the ‘acting graveyard’, some set of students came, and I was wondering who they are, not knowing they are the AMACOS – Association of Mass Communication Students executives. The president introduced himself, and also asked us to do so one by one.

Everyone was getting familiar with each other, it has now switched from a ‘graveyard’ to a normal student environment.

After the whole introduction saga, the president asked why each student chose to study mass communication, a student I presumed smart…lol answered him perfectly. The acting hall was now buzzing, jokes, pranks and students were getting hilarious. The president told us we are all here for different reasons and purposes, The way we want to excel in school depends on the perspective we have towards the school. He said secondary school is way different from higher institution, the type of friends we make or walk with is part of what will determine how our result would be at the end of the day (i got that clear).

Maintain your lane, no one will persuade you to read, just be yourself and aim high. Best of luck!

To be honest, the class was fun, chatting, mimicking, laughing, every single moment was awesome!

Chai! e good to be a poly student o!
The execs left the hall when they saw a lecturer walk in with his laptop and all, they greeted the lecturer and left the hall.

Introduction to News Gathering and Writing – MAC 115 was the first course introduced to us. The lecturer made a thought provoking quote before starting:

No Communication, No Society!!!

Sulaimon Okikiola writes from Mass Communication ND 1

Press man of the week 4 – Sulaimon Okikiola

Leave a comment

Trending